Synchromysticism

" Synchromysticism:
The art of realizing meaningful coincidence in the seemingly mundane with mystical or esoteric significance."

- Jake Kotze

April 9, 2018

The Nightmare of being a STRICT Vegetarian or Vegan?

 The Gelatin Problem?
VZ 048: Foods That Seem Vegetarian (But Are Not!)
"Being vegetarian or vegan isn’t just about going “meatless”.
 There are some foods that have hidden animal products in them that you’ll want to be aware of if you’re trying to maintain a strictly vegetarian or vegan lifestyle."
Surprising foods that aren't vegetarian
Hostess products – beef fat
Guinness - Isinglass (fish bladder)
I was listening to the 'Vegetarian Zen' podcast titled
'Foods That Seem Vegetarian (But Are Not!)' and was surprised that some of what I thought was vegetarian food while on my vegetation diet wasn't.
For instance St.Patrick's Day this year found me to be sinning against my vegetarian diet unknowingly, so next year come St.Patrick's Day I will be knowingly sinning against my diet, because I'm not stopping my traditional celebrations just because my drink might be a little on the fishy side of things.
Happy St.Patrick's Day :-)
Sorry, but I never said I was a vegetarian, only that I'm on a vegetarian diet with a few minor adjustments (cheats) to my diet for holidays and birthdays.
Guinness on St.Pat's Day will have to be one more on my cheat list I'm afraid.
Lucky for me I hate marsh-mellows and Twinkies, I guess.
White sugar - bone char
(a granular material made by charring animal bones)
Avoiding white sugar in my diet sounds like mission impossible to me, too.
Red candies – Beetles
Altoids - gelatin
(animal collagen)
Wine - gelatin
(animal collagen)
Worcestershire sauce - anchovy
Marshmallows - gelatin
Thank heavens there is no Halloween (officially anyway) in Australia;-)

No comments: